Innovative Technology For Trace Organic Analysis
Seach
TEL: +44 (0)1443 230 935
Mobile Menu

What can breast implants tell us about bio-accumulation?

Monday, 18 May 2015 at 4:50:PM

Anthony Gravell webinarIn a forthcoming webinar, Anthony​ Gravell from Natural Resources Wales (UK), will explain how GC×GC–TOF MS can be​ used to determine the bodily burden on environmental pollutants by the analysis of breast implants.

Register for the webinar here

When is the webinar?

The webinar, hosted by Separation Science, will take place on 16 June at 16:00 BST (08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 17:00 CEST).

What will it cover?

This webinar will firstly describe the findings from the investigation of river water quality by passive sampling and GC×GC–TOF MS. It will then go on to describe how the same methodology was used to estimate the body burden of bio-accumulative substances, by analysing used breast implants.

What will you learn?

At the end of the webinar you will have learnt the value of passive sampling and GC×GC–TOF MS for environmental investigations. The power of soft electron ionisation for enhanced confidence in the identification of challenging compounds will also be demonstrated.

Why should you attend?

Learn how cutting-edge analytical techniques can reveal hidden information from complex environmental matrices.

Who should attend?

Those involved in human bio-monitoring or environmental analysis will have particular interest in this study, but the techniques are applicable to the analysis of any challenging matrices.

Register for the webinar here


 


Separation ScienceThermal desorption–GC: Making VOC measurements on land, sea and in the air

Separation Science is also hosting a webinar by Professor Alastair Lewis (University of York), which describes the innovative use to which Markes’ instrumentation has been put by his research team.

When is the webinar?

The webinar, hosted by Separation Science, will be broadcast twice.

  • The first broadcast will take place on 2 June at 14:00 BST (06:00 PDT / 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST).
  • The second broadcast will take place on 2 June at 18:00 BST (10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 19:00 CEST).

What will it cover?

This presentation will describe a range of recent research applications of TD–GC.These will include

  • The VOC measurements made in support of air quality management during the London 2012 Olympics
  • Trace measurements used to detect long-term environmental change over the Atlantic
  • Some more unusual deployments of Markes and Agilent instrumentation on vessels at sea, to study volatiles from the sea surface and from aircraft in flight used to support emergency response and study of forest fire emissions.

The presentation will also include a comparison of current commercial instrument analytical performance against the highly challenging international standards for VOC measurement that are emerging, and the potential breakthroughs possible with high mass accuracy MS and ‘big data’ tools in the future.

Register for the webinar here


UK
UK
Markes International Ltd
Gwaun Elai Medi-Science Campus
Llantrisant
RCT
CF72 8XL, UK
Tel: +44 (0)1443 230935
USA (East)
USA (East)
Markes International, Inc
11126-D Kenwood Road
Cincinnati
Ohio 45242
USA
Tel: 866-483-5684 (toll-free)
USA (West)
USA (West)
Markes International, Inc
2355 Gold Meadow Way
Gold River
California 95670
USA
Tel: 866-483-5684 (toll-free)
Germany
Germany
Markes International GmbH
Schleussnerstrasse 42
D-63263 Neu-Isenburg
Frankfurt
Germany
Tel: +49 (0)6102 8825569
Part of Schauenburg International
Top